Open Source Bart Simpson

Shared Responsibility Fulfilled

Most people, including myself, agree to the idea of our shared responsibility towards the systems and software that are made available to us for “free”. We all understand that there is cost (monetary, manpower, administration, etc.) and hence it is not free in the true sense. Someone, somewhere is paying for it. Someone has taken up the burden of our missing contribution, however minuscule it may be.

Yet, when it comes to acting on it, we defer, procrastinate and finally pass on it, expecting and hoping that someone else will sustain it. I was no exception. I would go places, spend on food and drinks which was more expensive that it was worth, but didn’t make the much needed contribution. It is not that the monetary contribution has to be much and yet we don’t. This is bystander apathy, a very regressive attitude for a society.

Finally in November 2013, I committed myself to make a contribution as little as USD 5 to a few of the software123 that I use regularly. I did not go bankrupt (obviously) and life is better now that I have fulfilled my shared responsibility. Having taken that first step, I am now committed to contributing every year.

If everyone reading this chipped in $3, we would be supported for another year – Mozilla Firefox

If all our past donors simply gave again today, we wouldn’t have to worry about fundraising for the rest of the year – Jimmy Wales, Wikipedia

I promise you, take that first step and make that contribution. It will give you a sense of satisfaction.

One comment

Leave a Reply

